Day 2: Homemade Laundry Detergent

When I started cloth diapering my son about 9 months ago, my journey into the world of “crunchy” began. Now, I in no way consider myself to be a “crunchy” person, perhaps just a little crispy around the edges. I’ve tried to cut back on a lot of “waste” and have tried to switch to some more natural, less chemical-laden products. (Notice the word some! I am still a work in progress!) If you are a cloth-diapering momma, you know the constant debate on the subject of laundry detergent. Well, for several months, I used Tide original powder, which was already my go-to detergent for all of our laundry, and I loved it. However, after hearing often of moms who made their own detergent, I decided that I wanted to give it a try. I began making my own detergent about 5 months ago, and I have been extremely happy with it. It’s simple, cheap, has less chemicals than most brand-name detergents, and works great!

So, here’s the recipe that I use:

Equal parts Borax, Washing Soda, and Oxy Clean

*Use 1 small scoop (equal to 2 Tbs) per load

ImageImageImage

 

Yep! That’s it! I told you it was simple! I also add a few drops of Ylang Ylang essential oils to each batch for a light, natural scent, but that is completely optional! Up until recently, I would make a large batch and keep it in an old plastic gallon ice-cream bucket. However, a couple weeks ago, my mother-in-law bought me a beautiful glass jar to store it in! It looks so much nicer now sitting on my dryer!

Image

 

 

When I started making my own detergent, I had heard that it was cheaper, but I honestly never really figured it all out. When I decided to include this blog post in my 31-day challenge, however, I decided that I needed to include that information in here. So, I took the time to figure it out for you guys! The average price for a box of Tide (102 loads) is $18. That comes out to about $0.18 per load, and that is ONLY if you fill it to line 1 for every load. A 150-load batch of the homemade detergent can be made for around $16, which brings the per-load price to about $0.11! So, there ya go! It IS cheaper!

I use this recipe for all of my laundry! It took us a little while to get used to our laundry being smell-less. Now, though, when I smell the strong scents of store-bought detergents, it is actually a little nauseating! I never before realized how strong they smelled! 

Not only do I love the fact that there are less chemicals and fragrances in the fabrics that touch my family’s skin 24/7, but knowing that I am the one who makes that happen does make me feel a little like Superwoman! And who doesn’t love that feeling every once in a while?!?!

And, there you have it! Homemade laundry detergent…simply simple!

 

*Please let me know if you decide to try out this laundry detergent recipe and how you like it! Or, if you already make your own detergent, please share your recipe!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. applered123
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 05:05:52

    I have been thinking about making my own cloth diaper detergent. This seems like a great Idea.
    http://jaredkelsiejestoncora.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. applered123
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 05:38:35

    Reblogged this on Rigsby Love and commented:
    So trying this

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 412 other followers

As Luck Would Have It, We get a Second Chance at a Happy Ending!

Wasting less, praying more, and eating cleaner...one day at a time!

Little Bus on the Prairie

Totally normal. Except for that whole "living in a bus" thing.

Dirty Diaper Laundry

Smart cloth diaper information *and more* for smart parents.

Nintendo-RS.Blogspot.com

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Finding Joy in Everyday

family, military, love

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Simplifying Our Lives...

Wasting less, praying more, and eating cleaner...one day at a time!

Living Well on the Cheap

maximum luxury, minimal moolah

Small Spaces

living big in a small space

Rigsby Love

Together we have it all

Homemaking With Heart

Intentional Living, Faith and Family

Jack's Crunchy Mama

Natural whole living & parenting with a conservative viewpoint

Frocks, Quills, & Ink Spills

Wasting less, praying more, and eating cleaner...one day at a time!

MommyGuru

Wasting less, praying more, and eating cleaner...one day at a time!

Finding Writer's Block in All the Wrong Places

Writing to live and living to write

Entrusted Motherhood

All things Mama!!

Crosscountrycajun's blog

Enjoying life one mile at a time.

Becoming Minimalist

Wasting less, praying more, and eating cleaner...one day at a time!

Sarah Martina

Wasting less, praying more, and eating cleaner...one day at a time!

